Bookshop Santa Cruz Events, Winter 2017

BOOKSHOP SANTA CRUZ EVENTS

WINTER 2017-2018

These events were featured in our 2017 Winter Newsletter.

Signed copies of books from selected author events can now be preordered on our website! View your options here. You can also see select autographed copies from authors who have previously visited our store here

 

WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 1ST AT 7:00 PM

CHRIS GUILLEBEAU, Side Hustle

Chris Guillebeau, New York Times best-selling author of The $100 Startup and founder of the Side Hustle School podcast, unlocks America’s interest in alternative sources of income that don’t demand you quit your day job. Designed for the busy and impatient, this book shows you how to make money from your side hustle in under a month.

 

FRIDAY NOVEMBER 3RD at 7:00 PM

JASON SEGEL, Otherworld

In conversation with Good Times editor Steve Palopoli

Otherworld is the first book in New York Times best-selling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller’s new young adult sci-fi-thriller series–perfect for fans of Black Mirror and readers of James Dashner and Veronica Roth. Whether you know Jason Segel from TV (How I Met Your Mother) or his movies (The Muppets), this is your chance to meet him in our store during this free event! Get your tickets now.

 

SUNDAY NOVEMBER 5TH at 7:00 PM

COMMUNITY READ for our WORDS TO ACT ON Immigration Partnership: Enrique’s Journey

Join Bookshop and the Santa Cruz County Community Action Board Immigration Project for our fall community read, a moderated community discussion around a selected book relevant to immigration. Enrique’s Journey is the true story of Enrique, a teenager from Honduras, who sets out on a journey, braving hardship and peril, to find his mother, who had no choice but to leave him behind when he was a child and go to the U.S. in search of work. The discussion will be moderated by Fernando Leiva, associate professor of Latin American and Latino Studies at UCSC. 

 

TUESDAY NOVEMBER 7TH at 7:00 PM

KAREN PAGE, Kitchen Creativity

In this new exploration of culinary greatness, two-time James Beard Award–winning author Karen Page (Becoming a Chef, The Flavor Bible) reveals the secrets and techniques that the best chefs use to create memorable, delicious meals. Page shows how we can all answer a universal question: “How do I cook something new tonight?” 

 

WEDNESDAY NOVEMBER 8TH at 7:00 PM

JEFFREY CRANOR & JOSEPH FINK, It Devours!

The creators of the internationally popular Welcome to Night Vale podcast will visit Bookshop to celebrate their new book, It Devours!—a noir-esque mystery set in the Night Vale universe. Purchase a copy of It Devours! from Bookshop to secure your position in the signing line. 

 

SPECIAL EVENT

FRIDAY NOVEMBER 10TH & SATURDAY NOVEMBER 11TH

BOOKSHOP’S 51ST BIRTHDAYPARTY & SALE!

PREVIEW SALE FOR READERS’ CLUB MEMBERS ONLY: 20% OFF EVERYTHING: All day Friday, November 10th.

BOOKSHOP’S 51ST BIRTHDAY PARTY: Friday, November 10th. Music at 7:30pm, cake at 8:00pm.

BOOKSHOP’S ANNUAL BIRTHDAY SALE: 20% OFF EVERYTHING IN THE STORE: All day Saturday, November 11th. 20% off all books, sale books, toys, cards, calendars, magazines, and gifts. (Excludes event tickets, purchase orders, special orders, and gift cards.)

 

SUNDAY NOVEMBER 12TH at 7:00 PM

JANET FITCH, The Revolution of Marina M.

A novel inspired by the great Russian classics, The Revolution of Marina M. follows its protagonist, born to privilege and aching to break from the constraints of her genteel life. Fans of her first novel, White Oleander, will recognize Fitch’s master hand at developing complex characters that will remain in your imagination forever. 

 

MONDAY NOVEMBER 13TH at 7:00 PM

ANNE FADIMAN, The Wine Lover’s Daughter

Award-winning author Anne Fadiman (The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down) will discuss her new memoir about her relationship with her father, Clifton Fadiman—a renowned literary critic, editor, and radio host whose greatest love was wine. This free in-store event is cosponsored by Equinox Winery and will include a wine tasting!

 

SATURDAY NOVEMBER 18TH AT 4:00 PM

DEB PERELMAN, Smitten Kitchen Every Day

The creator of the incomparable Smitten Kitchen blog returns to Bookshop to celebrate her highly anticipated new cookbook at an afternoon book talk and signing. Bookshop staff and Companion Bakeshop will be making recipes to sample! Purchase a copy of Smitten Kitchen Every Day from Bookshop to secure your position in the signing line. 

 

SATURDAY NOVEMBER 25TH, ALL DAY

SMALL BUSINESS SATURDAY

Shop small and help your community prosper! Join us on the Saturday after Thanksgiving to support small businesses nationwide. Raffle and prizes, plus a photo booth with the Grinch! TUESDAY NOV 28TH7:00–8:00 PM

 

TUESDAY NOVEMBER 28TH 7:00-8:00 pm

YOUNG WRITERS CONTEST HONOREES ON THE RADIO

The winners of Bookshop’s Young Writers contest read their stories on Bruce Bratton’s Universal Grapevine program on KZSC 88.1FM. For more information and for weekly podcasts of Universal Grapevine, visit kzsc.com.

 

SPECIAL OFFSITE & TICKETED EVENT AT SANTA CRUZ HIGH

TUESDAY DECEMBER 5TH AT 7:00 PM

ANDY WEIR, Artemis

The author of the blockbuster book and film The Martian comes to Santa Cruz for his latest novel, Artemis. Jazz, a smuggler working on the moon, finds herself in over her head when offered the chance to have the payday of her dreams—if she can pull off an elaborate heist. Be among the first to purchase your ticket package to the event, and receive exclusive access to our text message–based scavenger hunt immersed in the world of Artemis. Grand prize: An exclusive meet-and-greet with Andy Weir himself! Get your tickets now.

 

SPECIAL OFFSITE & FREE EVENT AT THE MUSEUM OF ART & HISTORY

SUNDAY DECEMBER 10THAT 5:00 PM

JAN BRETT, The Mermaid

We are thrilled to welcome Jan Brett, best-selling author and illustrator of The Mitten, for a special book talk and signing of her new childrens book, The Mermaid, a striking under-the-sea version of Goldilocks. Cosponsored by the Santa Cruz Public Library, this event includes a free community art activity for children. Purchase a copy of The Mermaid from Bookshop to gain entrance to the signing line and take a photo in front of the Mermaid Bus! 

 

WEDNESDAY JANUARY 17TH AT 4:00 PM

ANN M. MARTIN, Rain Reign

In this powerful, New York Times–best-selling middle-grade novel, Newbery Medalist and author of The Baby-Sitter’s Club series tells the story of Rose (a girl on the autism spectrum) and a lost dog she names Rain. This is a rich and poignant story about growing our capacity for empathy, as we imagine the world through someone else’s eyes. Join us as we launch a month-long series of events focusing on how to spread kindess in our community—The Compassion Project! Martin will be in conversation with Jolene Kemos, teacher-librarian of Branciforte Small Schools.

 

SPECIAL OFFSITE & TICKETED EVENT AT THE CIVIC AUDITORIUM

FRIDAY FEBRUARY 16TH AT 7:00 PM

DEEPAK CHOPRA, The Healing Self

Bookshop Santa Cruz presents best-selling author Deepak Chopra as he shares new insights from his latest work, The Healing Self, and explores some of the most important and baffling questions about higher consciousness, transformation, and healing. In the face of environmental toxins, potential epidemics, superbugs, and the accelerated aging process, the significance of achieving optimum health has never been more crucial—and the burden to achieve it now rests on people making the right lifestyle choices every day. Chopra is a world-renowned pioneer in integrative medicine and personal transformation, and is board certified in internal medicine, endocrinology, and metabolism. For tickets: www.santacruztickets.com

 

Want to be among the first to know about Bookshop's new and upcoming events? Sign up for our events e-mail list.

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060