If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

Deathless (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Deathless Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Apr 21 12:45am
(SCIENCE FICTION FANTASY)

Staff Reviews


Whenever I tell people I love fairy tales, I can almost see how childish this makes me in their eyes. Fairy tales are so boring, they say, just simplistic love stories. I pity these people, because they just don’t understand. Valente though, she gets it, she understands. She effortlessly combines the magic of Spirited Away, the grit of City of Thieves, with a huge helping of Russian folklore & history.

— Jax

Description


Koschei the Deathless is to Russian folklore what giants or wicked witches are to European culture: the villain of countless stories which have been passed on through story and text for generations. Valente's take on the legend brings the action to modern times, spanning many of the great developments of Russian history in the twentieth century.

Deathless, however, is no dry, historical tome: it lights up like fire as the young Marya Morevna transforms from a clever peasant girl to Koschei's beautiful bride, to his eventual undoing. Along the way there are Stalinist house elves, magical quests, secrecy and bureaucracy, and games of lust and power. All told, Deathless is a collision of magical history and actual history, of revolution and mythology, of love and death, that will bring Russian myth to life in a stunning new incarnation.

About the Author


Catherynne M. Valente's first book, The Orphan's Tales, was released when Cat was twenty-seven. In the Night Garden won the James Tiptree Jr. Award and was nominated for the World Fantasy Award. Her next novel, Palimpsest, was nominated for the Hugo Award and is a Locus Award finalist, and The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making is a New York Times bestseller that earned starred reviews from all three major review outlets. Valente lives on a small island off the coast of Maine with her partner, two dogs, and one cat.

Praise For…


For fans of Neil Gaiman, Gregory Maguire, and the like, this is essential.”
—Library Journal, starred review

“Romantic and blood-streaked, and infused with magic so real you can feel it on your fingertips—Deathless is beautiful.”
—Cory Doctorow, bestselling author of Little Brother

“Stories, unlike people, don't stay dead forever, or not always. They can live again—but only under very special circumstances. They must be revived by the miraculous touch of a very rare class of being, a kind of multi-classed genius/scholar/saint, who can restore them to life. Catherynne Valente is such a being.”
—Lev Grossman, bestselling author of The Magicians, on Ventriloquism

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765326317
ISBN-10: 0765326310
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: February 14th, 2012
Pages: 352
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060