If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

The Girl Before (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Girl Before Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Apr 27 3:47am
(HARDBACK FICTION)

Staff Reviews


This was a great read that kept me guessing. There was something delicious about the 'unreliable narrator' angle and I'm not sure that I've ever read a mystery that so interweaves the idea of guilt and innocence with such complexity that the question itself becomes a tangled knot that isn't easy to ever untie--quite an achievement for a 'who-done-it' plot! I also loved how much the setting was its own character.

— S.M.C.

Description


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman's seemingly good fortune, and another woman's mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.
SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD
Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.
The request seems odd, even intrusive--and for the two women who answer, the consequences are devastating.
EMMA
Reeling from a traumatic break-in, Emma wants a new place to live. But none of the apartments she sees are affordable or feel safe. Until One Folgate Street. The house is an architectural masterpiece: a minimalist design of pale stone, plate glass, and soaring ceilings. But there are rules. The enigmatic architect who designed the house retains full control: no books, no throw pillows, no photos or clutter or personal effects of any kind. The space is intended to transform its occupant--and it does.
JANE
After a personal tragedy, Jane needs a fresh start. When she finds One Folgate Street she is instantly drawn to the space--and to its aloof but seductive creator. Moving in, Jane soon learns about the untimely death of the home's previous tenant, a woman similar to Jane in age and appearance. As Jane tries to untangle truth from lies, she unwittingly follows the same patterns, makes the same choices, crosses paths with the same people, and experiences the same terror, as the girl before.
Praise for The Girl Before
"Dazzling, startling, and above all cunning--a pitch-perfect novel of psychological suspense."--Lee Child
"The Girl Before generates a fast pace. . . . J. P.] Delaney intersperses ethics questions on stand-alone pages throughout the book. . . . The single most ingenious touch is that we're not provided either woman's answers."--The New York Times
"J. P. Delaney builds the suspense."--Vanity Fair
"Immediate guarantee: You will not be able to put this book down. . . . Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will realize that there's not only more where that came from, but it's also more thrilling."--American Booksellers Association
"This is going to be the buzziest book of 2017. We may only be a few weeks into 2017, but we're calling it early: This year, The Girl Before will be that book. The upcoming novel by author J. P. Delaney has all of the makings of a sexy murder mystery that is sure to hit the bestseller chart, and it already has the movie deal to prove it."--InStyle
"Delaney has created a genuinely eerie, fascinating setting in One Folgate Street. . . . The novel's structure, volleying back and forth as first Emma and then Jane begin to question their improbable luck, is beautifully handled. The pages fly."--USA Today
"The house has a dark past and a landlord that's anything but welcoming."--New York Post, one of the must-read books of the week
"The Girl Before is deservedly anointed the 'top girl' of this season's suspense novels."--The Washington Post
"The Girl Before is a cat-and-mouse game that toys with our expectations and twists our sympathies. At times almost unbearably suspenseful, it keeps us guessing from the first page to the very last. Don't miss it."--Joseph Finder

About the Author


The Girl Before is the first psychological thriller from JP Delaney, a pseudonym for a writer who has previously written bestselling fiction under other names. It is being published in thirty-five countries. A film version is being brought to the screen by Academy Award-winning director Ron Howard.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780425285046
ISBN-10: 0425285049
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: January 24th, 2017
Pages: 352
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060