If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

Salt to the Sea (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Apr 27 3:47am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


This is a beautiful, moving work of historical fiction about the largest, and one of the least known, maritime disasters in history. Short chapters told from the point of view of each character keeps the book moving swiftly along, and it brings to stark life the realities of how war affects civilians, and the atrocities committed by all parties in World War Two. Sepetys continues her tradition of writing great books about little known chapters of history, and this may be her best yet.

— Flannery

During the Second World War, the Russians torpedoed and sunk the Wilhelm Gustloff with 10,582 passengers on board. More than 9400 died in the cold Baltic Sea, including 5000 children. This little-known maritime disaster is impeccably researched and viscerally conveyed through the stories of four adults, slowly revealed in alternating chapters in Sepetys’ haunting historical fiction. Why do we read about disasters? Perhaps to illumine our character—our most base and our best tendencies. And because it is important here, as well, to not forget. Ages 14 & up. 

— Ga

Description


New York Times Bestseller "Masterfully crafted"--The Wall Street Journal
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies.

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.

Praise for Salt to the Sea

Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted... a] powerful work of historical fiction."--The Wall Street Journal ♦ " Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."--Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."--The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."--New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."--Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."--The Globe and Mail " H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."--Salt Lake Tribune ♦ *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."--Booklist *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."--School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year
Praise for Between Shades of Gray
A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."--The Washington Post ♦ *" A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."--Booklist

About the Author


Ruta Sepetys (www.rutasepetys.com) was born and raised in Michigan in a family of artists, readers, and music lovers. She is the award-winning, bestselling author of Between Shades of Gray and Out of the Easy. Ruta lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee. Follow her on Twitter at @RutaSepetys.

Praise For…


"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In "Salt to the Sea" the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling.” Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book "Code Name Verity”

A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying and little-known moment in World War II history. Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist "Bomb"

"Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." Sabaa Tahir, "New York Times"bestselling author of"An Ember in the Ashes”

* "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history." "Publishers Weekly, "starred review

* "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered." "Booklist, "starred review

* "Artfully told and sensitively crafted, Sepetys's exploration of this little-known piece of history will leave readers weeping." "School Library Journal, "starred review

"Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." "Kirkus”

"This novel will break readers hearts and then put them back together a little more whole." "VOYA”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780399160301
ISBN-10: 0399160302
Publisher: Philomel Books
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060