If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

The Sobbing School (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Sobbing School Cover Image
By Joshua Bennett, Eugene Gloria (Selected by)
$18.00
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jan 21 7:30am
(POETRY)

Staff Reviews


A debut collection and my favorite poetry release of 2016. Incredibly beautiful and artful, with affecting imagery, intelligent allusions, small pieces of language like glass shards perfectly placed to catch you in the heart. Ideal for fans of Rankine's Citizen. Bennett is an exceptional writer, almost mandatory reading. I looked up each reference as I went, and then read it straight through the second I'd finished.

— a.c.

Description


A -sharp- and -scintillating- (Publishers Weekly) debut collection of poetry, selected by Eugene Gloria as a winner of the National Poetry Series

The Sobbing School, Joshua Bennett's mesmerizing debut collection of poetry, presents songs for the living and the dead that destabilize and de-familiarize representations of black history and contemporary black experience. What animates these poems is a desire to assert life, and interiority, where there is said to be none. Figures as widely divergent as Bobby Brown, Martin Heidegger, and the 19th-century performance artist Henry Box Brown, as well as Bennett's own family and childhood best friends, appear and are placed in conversation in order to show that there is always a world beyond what we are socialized to see value in, always alternative ways of thinking about relation that explode easy binaries.

About the Author


Joshua Bennett received his PhD in English from Princeton University. He is currently a member of the Society of Fellows at Harvard Univeristy, and has received fellowships from the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop, the Hurston/Wright Foundation, and the Ford Foundation. His poems have been published or are forthcoming in Beloit Poetry Journal, Callaloo, the Kenyon Review, and New England Review. Bennett tours nationally and internationally as a performance poet and has recited his original work at the Sundance Film Festival, the NAACP Image Awards, and President Obama's Evening of Poetry and Music at the White House. He lives in Yonkers, New York.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780143111863
ISBN-10: 0143111868
Publisher: Penguin Books
Publication Date: September 27th, 2016
Pages: 96
Language: English
Series: National Poetry

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060