If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

The Prey of Gods (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Prey of Gods Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Sep 23 9:29am
(SCIENCE FICTION FANTASY)

Staff Reviews


This debut novel, reminiscent of Nnedi Okorafor, is a fresh and welcome addition to the SFF genre. The South African setting and combination of gods and technology in the world of The Prey of Gods will pique any reader’s interest. “Draydon weaves an engaging story that’s populated by a diverse cast and enhanced by fascinating concepts.” —Publishers Weekly

— Karena

Description


*A Wall Stree Journal "Summer Reading: One expert. One book" pick for 2017

*The RT Book Reviews "June 2017: Seal of Excellence" pick

*A B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog "Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far" pick

From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark humor.

In South Africa, the future looks promising. Personal robots are making life easier for the working class. The government is harnessing renewable energy to provide infrastructure for the poor. And in the bustling coastal town of Port Elizabeth, the economy is booming thanks to the genetic engineering industry which has found a welcome home there. Yes--the days to come are looking very good for South Africans. That is, if they can survive the present challenges:

A new hallucinogenic drug sweeping the country . . .

An emerging AI uprising . . .

And an ancient demigoddess hellbent on regaining her former status by preying on the blood and sweat (but mostly blood) of every human she encounters.

It's up to a young Zulu girl powerful enough to destroy her entire township, a queer teen plagued with the ability to control minds, a pop diva with serious daddy issues, and a politician with even more serious mommy issues to band together to ensure there's a future left to worry about.

Fun and fantastic, Nicky Drayden takes her brilliance as a short story writer and weaves together an elaborate tale that will capture your heart . . . even as one particular demigoddess threatens to rip it out.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062493033
ISBN-10: 0062493035
Publisher: Voyager
Publication Date: June 13th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060