If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

American Street (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
American Street Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
12 on hand, as of Jan 17 9:45am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Born in the U.S., having lived her 17 years in Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola Toussaint finds herself with her manman’s sister’s family in Detroit at the ironic intersection of American Street and Joy Road. This chilling, evocative, achingly tender, remarkable debut by Zoboi is my favorite YA novel this year. For young adults and adults.

— Ga

Description


A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews

New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year *

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062473042
ISBN-10: 0062473042
Publisher: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
Publication Date: February 14th, 2017
Pages: 336
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060