If you have any questions about the availability of this book, please refer to these Inventory Status descriptions or call us at (831)423-0900.

Train I Ride (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Train I Ride Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
7 on hand, as of Jan 19 6:15am
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


Travelling by train, Rydr is 12 when she leaves Palm Springs and 13 before she reaches Chicago. Her unemotional narration grows on us. This journey gives Rydr, a damaged child, what she never had—a community, stretching from the overworked Amtrak employee whose charge she is, to the snack bar attendant who allows her to steal food. There’s also the boy who acquaints her with Ginsberg and gives her his cherished signed copy of Howl (and her first kiss), and the writer she helps with crosswords who recognizes—in the child’s generosity, intelligence, and fierce determination—another writer. When she leaves the train, we believe, without knowing how, that Rydr will be okay. Grades 6 and up.

— Ga

Description


4 starred reviews "Heartbreaking, hilarious, and life-affirming" (Ami Polonsky, author of Gracefully Grayson and Threads)

Rydr is on a train heading east, leaving California, where her gramma can't take care of her anymore, and traveling to Chicago, to live with an unknown relative. She brings with her a backpack, memories both happy and sad, and a box containing something very important.

As Rydr meets her fellow passengers and learns their stories, her own story begins to emerge. It's one of sadness and heartache, and one Rydr would sometimes like to forget.

But as much as Rydr may want to run away from her past, on the train she finds that hope and forgiveness are all around her, and most importantly, within her, if she's willing to look for it.

From Publishers Weekly Flying Start author Paul Mosier comes a poignant story about a young girl's travels by train from Los Angeles to Chicago in which she learns along the way that she can find family wherever she is. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Sharon Creech.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062455734
ISBN-10: 0062455737
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: January 24th, 2017
Pages: 192
Language: English

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060