Paperback Fiction Recommendations, Summer 2015

“Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet…” With these two lines, Ng begins an emotional page-turner as the Lee family comes undone by the mysterious death of their beloved daughter. Each must struggle with their own truths and secrets, expectations and disappointments, in a world where race and gender issues play out in constant otherness. Heartbreaking and hopeful, beautifully written, this cinematic debut is a must-read.

Reviewed by: 
Melinda
Everything I Never Told You Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143127550
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2015

While Murakami’s new novel reads like a dream or a whispered ghost story, it is also one of the most real-to-life coming-of-age stories I’ve ever read. Thirty-something Tsukuru Tazaki has a pilgrimage to make—both real and into his past—and for all the familiarity of his youth, it becomes a land more foreign than he could ever imagine. Carefully placed, fueled by thoughtfulness and simplicity, this is a beautiful meditation—at once mysterious, devastating and incredibly moving.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Logo
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage Cover Image
By Haruki Murakami, Philip Gabriel (Translator)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780804170123
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - May 5th, 2015

I loved this mashup of historical fiction, classic fairy tale and romance! The story weaves between many different time periods and the stories of several different women. Each story layers beautifully, from Charlotte-Rose’s story of politics and intrigue in the French court, to Margherita’s story of fantastical magic. This book left me feeling renewed and rejuvenated, with a deeper appreciation of the power each of us holds within ourselves. Enjoy!  —Jax

Staff Pick Logo
Bitter Greens Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250070845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 19th, 2015

Genevieve Valentine’s re-told fairytale is crafted in the best of ways: not only rediscovering the story in a new setting, but in so doing uncovering the darker truths of the tale. In terrifying, heart-breaking, and triumphant measures, Valentine takes us through labyrinths of grey captivity and the bright glow of the underground dance halls of Prohibition-era New York—where everything is both forbidden and promised, and the only way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the night.  —Jocelyn

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Girls at the Kingfisher Club Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781476739090
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Washington Square Press - June 30th, 2015

While ultimately about the timeless battle between two otherworldly forces, The Bone Clocks roots itself deeply in the fullness of its characters and each moment’s here and now.  Spanning centuries, the story expertly weaves together a tapestry that is both an epic adventure and a critique on our all-too-real moment in time. This is classic Mitchell: Unfettered intelligence, a broadness of curiosity, and writing so clean the sentences glide forward and then stand still, demanding to be admired.  —Melinda

 

The Bone Clocks Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812976823
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade - June 16th, 2015

A New York lawyer immigrates to Dubai to work for the tremendously rich family of a college friend. As the “family officer” in this bizarre desert wonderland, our narrator navigates the strange conflicts signature to modern life. Is his addiction to Googling and Facebooking and Wikiing any more obsessive than all of ours? Is his attachment to his Pasha massage chair so wrong? The Dog is fantastically funny with deep heart. Comically philosophical, smart and minimally sarcastic, it solidifies O’Neill’s place among the literary elite.  —Julia

Staff Pick Logo
The Dog Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307472946
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - June 9th, 2015

Simon Rich has struck gold in his newest collection, lampooning overbearing moms, millennials, and hipper-than-thou slackers—all lacking direction and humility. I laughed out loud reading the harrowing life of a hamster stuck in a 1st-grade classroom. It’s twisted with sour one-liners and written like he was telling you these stories at a cocktail party in an abandoned warehouse in Williamsburg. Great for fans of B.J. Novak and David Sedaris.  —Louise

Staff Pick Logo
Spoiled Brats: Stories Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780316368650
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Back Bay Books - May 26th, 2015

This novel follows the adventures, lovers and mistakes of two sisters—ambitious, fickle Iris, and mature, practical Eva—through 1940s Hollywood, wealthy and working-class suburbs of New York, and Germany at the end of World War II. Bloom’s unpretentious, effortless writing is quick-paced yet profoundly moving, magical yet matter-of-fact.  —Julia

Staff Pick Logo
Lucky Us Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780812978940
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Trade - July 7th, 2015

A novel written in the form of letters of recommendation? Sounds like a literary stunt, but Schumacher absolutely nails it. While maintaining her formal conceit she perfectly blends satire and real human emotion, offering a sharp (and hilarious) commentary on modern academia through one professor's tired pen and fading sanity. If you’ve ever needed a letter of recommendation or written one, you'll laugh and you’ll cry. I unreservedly recommend Ms. Schumacher for your reading pleasure.  —Rico

Staff Pick Logo
Dear Committee Members Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780345807335
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor Books - June 23rd, 2015

I ran a book discussion group for fifteen years. When the members voted for their favorite book over that stretch, this was the winner. Set in India, it’s one of those amazing novels that is both about specific, deeply rendered human beings, and about an entire nation and culture. Think Dickens, think Tolstoy. It’s that good. I don’t cry at the end of books; I did at the end of this one.

Reviewed by: 
Rico
Staff Pick Logo
A Fine Balance Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781400030651
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - November 30th, 2001

Pages

 

Other Services:

 

 
 
 
 
All titles are subject to availability. Prices subject to change. Please call 831-423-0900 to confirm.
Copyright © Bookshop Santa Cruz
(831) 423-0900 · 1520 Pacific Ave · Downtown Santa Cruz · Santa Cruz, CA · 95060